Morning Music Notes – New Album Details Galore, and a Thing Called Coachella

Lots of new albums coming out and lots of release news, so don’t mind us as we power through them all. Oh, and some Coachella Festival announced it’s line up.

Coachella Announces 2013 Line Up

Coachella 2013

The famous festival in the California desert has announced it’s line up for April 12-14 and April 19-21. Coachella has announced it’s full festival, as shown above, and will include bands such as Blur, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Phoenix, and the Stone Roses as headliners, plus Yeah Yeah Yeahs, How to Destroy Angels, Passion Pit, Beach House, Metric, The xx, Postal Service, Sigur Rós, Hot Chip, Grizzly Bear, Vampire Weekend, Wu-tang Clan, Grimes, and many, many more! As usual, there are tons of amazing bands, and there will be tons of conflicts. The headliners, as much as I like them, aren’t necessary jaw dropping or surprises in terms of what Coachella usually pulls out of its bag of tricks. Enjoy!

Sigur Rós To Release New Album, Force Me to Look for ó on my Keyboard

Those lovable, eclectic kids from Iceland gave us a billion videos for their Valtari Mystery Film Experiment. Now, Sigur Rós have said during a Reddit chat yesterday that they are working on their eighth studio album, and it will be out this year (via Consequence of Sound). There’s also a snippet of the track Brennisteinn that you can listen to below. It’s not ethereal and dreamy like their usual stuff – it’s heavy and different! Also of note – Kjartan Sveinsson (keyboardist / original member) has left the group, so now there are just three of them.

Sigur Rós – Brennisteinn (snippet)

The Flaming Lips to Release The Terror (Ha!) on April 1, Hopefully Not an Early Prank


The Flaming Lips, when not bringing grenades to airports, or getting blood from their contributors, record music. They have collected enough music to release an album – what a novel concept. The album will be called The Terror and will be out on one of my favourite days of the year – February 14 April 1 (via Stereogum).

There will be 9 tracks, and a non-album track out on February 3, which will also play during a Super Bowl commercial, which means us Canadians likely won’t see it. We’ll see endless Canadian Tire and Molson Canadian ads that will make you want to shovel your driveway and miss the game altogether.

Tracklist for The Flaming Lips – The Terror

1 Look…The Sun Is Rising
2 Be Free, A Way
3 Try To Explain
4 You Lust
5 The Terror
6 You Are Alone
7 Butterfly, How Long It Takes To Die
8 Turning Violent
9 Always There…In Our Hearts
10 Sun Blows Up Today (digital-only bonus track)

Depeche Mode Announce The Details of Their Millionth Album

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode will be following up their 2009 album with a new album this year. It will be out on March 26 and will be called Delta Machine (via Pitchfork). The first track, Heaven, is named after my favourite stripper, and will be out on February 1.

Like most releases these days, we’ll get the standard edition, and the deluxe edition, which comes with a 28 page book with photos, as well as four extra tracks. Naturally, Martin Gore thinks the album is amazing, noting “The music has a similar vibe to [1990’s] Violator and [1993’s] Songs of Faith and Devotion and I think the songs on the album are among some of the very best we’ve done.” Of course it is.

Justin Timberlake Announces Album Release Date for The 20/20 Experience

I’m only a casual Justin Timberlake fan – some of his tracks are genre-pushing and stellar, but a bunch of it is disposable stuff that I’ll never post on here. He has the cred to work with just about anyone, so his limits are pretty much endless musically. Justin Timberlake has a new video out for his Jay-Z featuring track, Suit and Tie. During the video, he slips in the release date of his new terribly named album, The 20/20 Experience. It will be out on March 19 – just as your St. Patrick’s Day hangover is starting to go away. Check out his latest video below.

Justin Timberlake – Suit and Tie (featuring Jay-Z)

You may also like...