Mercury Prize 2011 Shortlist Revealed

The Mercury Prize is an annual music prize awarded for the best album from the United Kingdom and Ireland. It started in 1992 and features past winners including Portishead – Dummy (1995), Pulp – Different Class (1996), Badly Drawn Boy – The Hour of Bewilderbeast (2000), Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not (2006) and The xx – xx (2010). This year’s shortlist has been announced, ahead of the September 6 award date. The nominees are (I’ve always wanted to say that!):

Mercury prize 2011 nominees (from Mercury prize website)
Adele – 21
Anna Calvi – Anna Calvi
Elbow – Build a Rocket Boys!
Everything Everything – Man Alive
Ghostpoet– Peanut Butter Blues and Melancholy Jam
Gwilym Simcock – Good Days at Schloss Elmau
James Blake – James Blake
Katy B – On a Mission
King Creosote & Jon Hopkins – Diamond Mine
Metronomy – The English Riviera
PJ Harvey – Let England Shake
Tinie Tempah – Disc-Overy

Any glaring omissions? Radiohead – The King of Limbs? Gold Panada – Lucky Shiner? The Horrors – Skying? Arctic Monkeys – Suck It and See?

Both PJ Harvey and Elbow have previously won the Mercury prize. Check out the first single, The Words That Maketh Murder, from PJ Harvey’s Mercury Prize-nominated album.

[youtube Va0w5pxFkAM]

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. chai says:

    i only know pj harvey from the batman forever soundtrack