Morning Music Notes – Math with The Flaming Lips

Flaming Lips + Ke$ha = Lip$ha. No, It Really Does!

The Flaming Lips previously teamed up with Ke$ha on their collaborative album The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends (which just saw the bizarro video for the song with Bon Iver). The two acts are now working on a full album together (via NME). And yes, it will actually be called Lip$ha.

Singer Wayne Coyne revealed the info during his Reddit AMA session by saying, “She is a blast on all levels. She’s funny, she’s humble. She’s badass. She’s everything. She’s awesome. We’re actually already working on an album with her. It’s called Lip$ha.”

No word on any release date and other crazy kind of release gimmicks like locks of hair or bloody fingertips.

Not a Facebook Phone but a Facebook Home

Facebook had their big announcement yesterday. While they didn’t announce a Facebook phone, they did announce a new social hub that is central to your phone’s usability. It’s called Facebook Home. Facebook Home will transform the home screen of your Android phone (sorry iPhones!) into the ‘cover feed’, which is essentially the news feed of Facebook. There’s also the terribly terribly terribly named “Chat Heads”, which is a way to chat via Facebook on the phone. Despite the dumb name, it could spell the slow decline of messaging apps like WhatsApp. Some Android users will be able to get Facebook Home starting April 12. No word on how music apps and features will be enhanced by Facebook Home.

Putting the Great in the Great Gatsby

Jay-Z is the executive producer of the Great Gatsby soundtrack, and he’s pulled in some good artists and some exclusive new songs for his vision. We already know about the Andre 3000 / Beyonce cover of Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black. We also get new songs from The xx, as well as Jack White’s Love is Blindness U2 cover, Florence + the Machine, Lana Del Rey, and um, some members of Black Eyed Peas. The soundtrack to the Leonardo DiCaprio movie is available digitally on May 7. Check out a trailer with some of that music below. You know the music is a big deal when it’s in the time of the YouTube trailer.

The Great Gatsby trailer

Tracklist for The Great Gatsby Soundtrack
1. Jay-Z – 100$ Bill
2. Beyoncé and André 3000 – Back to Black
3. – Bang Bang
4. Fergie, Q-Tip, and GoonRock – A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got)
5. Lana Del Rey – Young and Beautiful
6. Bryan Ferry with The Bryan Ferry Orchestra – Love Is The Drug
7. Florence + the Machine – Over The Love
8. Coco O. of Quadron – Where The Wind Blows
9. Emeli Sandé and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra – Crazy in Love
10. The xx – Together
11. Gotye – Hearts a Mess
12. Jack White – Love is Blindness
13. Nero – Into the Past

Watch! Allah-Las – Sacred Sands

Allah-Las (photo credit Nick Walker)

We have an instrumental rock track with echoes of that west coast beach rock that all of us love. The band, Allah-Las, are from – yup, Los Angeles, and have a self-titled debut LP. Check out the track Sacred Sands to get a taste of the soundtrack of your drive to the beach.

Allah-Las – Sacred Sands

You may also like...