Morning Music Notes – Don’t Take Kill ‘Em All Literally

At Last – Sigur Rós Candles!

If you’re looking for a Valentine’s Day gift for me, look no further than a candle from Icelandic band, Sigur Rós. That’s right, Sigur Rós have moved into the lucrative and untapped music market of candle making (via Pitchfork). I thought Beirut would’ve beaten them to the punch based on their song.

Sigur Ros Varðeldur candle (image via

It’s called the Varðeldur candle, which is named after a track on recent album, Valtari. It’ll set you back $23.50 plus shipping from their online store, and it won’t make it to me before Valentine’s Day, so you might want to buy me something else instead.

Metallica Didn’t Want Their Music Used in the Hunt for Osama Bin Laden

Music is the soundtrack to almost anything. In this case, almost everything includes the hunt for Osama Bin Laden. The unnamed US Navy Seal who fatally shot Bin Laden says that Metallica requested their music not be played while interrogating prisoners (via Gigwise). Is this a request one can actually even make?

The Navy Seal told Esquire “When we first started the war in Iraq, we were using Metallica music to soften people up before we interrogated them…Metallica got wind of this and they said, ‘Hey, please don’t use our music because we don’t want to promote violence.’ I thought, ‘Dude, you have an album called Kill ‘Em All’.”

Boom! This guy should be a lawyer or something! However, seeing an opening, Christian metal band (which is apparently a genre) Demon Hunters got in touch with them and they soundtracked the torture of prisoners. Sounds like a Christian thing to do, right? The Navy Seal noted that they gave out patches of the band, and that he was wearing the patch when he shot Bin Laden. Yay?

Phoenix Reveal Bankrupt! Details (The Album, Not Their Finances)

We already know that Phoenix is releasing an album called Bankrupt!. Now we can tell you that the album will be out on April 22/23. And we have a symbolic peach as the album artwork, because that’s what you eat if you’re out of money?


The band revealed that the album was recorded on the same console as Michael Jackson’s Thriller album, so expect album sales in the tens of millions. Check out the tracklisting below.

Tracklisting for Phoenix – Bankrupt!

1. Entertainment
2. The Real Thing
3. S.O.S. In Bel Air
4. Trying To Be Cool
5. Bankrupt!
6. Drakkar Noir
7. Chloroform
8. Don’t
9. Bourgeois
10. Oblique City

Watch The xx Play NPR’s Tiny Desk Concert

How is this for intimate? The xx play NPR’s Tiny Desk Concert series, practically up against bookshelves. We see Romy and Oli play as a duet, dressed all in black, of course. The play Angels and Sunset off of Coexist, and they sound nearly identical to the album version, with an added layer of fragility in the live setting. Be sure to give it a viewing below.

You may also like...