Morning Music Notes – Hip Hop Tue$day

Check out Bon Iver and Radiohead on Austin City Limits

Both Radiohead and Bon Iver stopped by Austin City Limits earlier this year to tape a segment for the legendary show. A behind the scenes of Radiohead’s Lotus Flower was previously released to get people like me excited – it worked. The shows for these bands will air on October 6 for Radiohead, and October 13 for Bon Iver (via Consequence of Sound). In an attempt to get us to tune in to the PBS session show, they have offered up the recordings of Radiohead’s Morning Mr. Magpie and Bon Iver’s Towers. Check them out below, and then tune in.

Radiohead – Morning Mr. Magpie (Live on Austin City Limits)

Bon Iver – Towers (Live on Austin City Limits)

Muse Added to London’s iTunes Festival

One of the many music events that happen around London every year is the iTunes Festival, which is a month long free, ticket lottery styled festival that artists play at the Roundhouse in Camden. Muse has been added to the festival and will close it out on September 30 (via Gigwise). They will join the other artists playing at the festival throughout September, such as Mumford & Sons, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, Hot Chip, Lana Del Rey, Elbow, The Killers, and Jack White, to name a few. Head over to the iTunes Festival website to enter your email address into the draw. Actually – DON’T – my odds decrease with each entry!

Pretty Solid Tracklist for RZA’s Directoral Debut

Wu-Tang Clan member, RZA, has been dabbling in the movie industry for some time. RZA has now directed his debut film, The Man with the Iron Fists, thanks to help from friends Quentin Tarantino and Eli Roth. RZA also knows a thing or two about music, and it shows in his soundtrack. We get tracks from the Black Keys & RZA (who collaborated on the Black Keys’ excellent, hip hop rock side project, Blakroc), Kanye West, Talib Kweil & RES, a bunch of the solo Wu-Tang Clan members, and then the Wu-Tang Clan themselves (via Consequence of Sound).


The soundtrack drops on October 23, and the movie is out on November 2. Check out the tracklist below.

Tracklist for The Man With the Iron Fists Soundtrack
01. The Black Keys & RZA – “The Baddest Man Alive”
02. Ghostface Killah, M.O.P & Pharoahe Monch – “Black Out”
03. Kanye West – “White Dress”
04. The Revelations feat. Tre Williams – “I Forgot To Be Your Lover”
05. Talib Kweli & RES – “Get Your Way (Sex as a Weapon)”
06. Raekwon, Ghostface Killah & Kool G. Rap – “Rivers of Blood”
07. Method Man, Freddie Gibbs & StreetLife – “Built for This”
08. 24 Carat Black – “Poverty’s Paradise”
09. Killa Sin – “The Archer”
10. RZA & Flatbush Zombies – “Just Blowin’ In The Wind”
12. Corrine Bailey Rae – “Chains”
13. Pusha T & Raekwon – “Tick Tock”
14. Frances Yip – “Green is the Mountain”
15. The Wu-Tang Clan – “Six Directions of Boxing”
16. Mabel John – “Your Good Thing Is About To End”

Listen! A$AP Mob – Lord$ Never Worry

The hip hop collective, A$AP Mob, have their latest mixtape up for download and streaming. The A$AP Rocky-led group have released Lord$ Never Worry – yup, they are still doing that dollar sign thing. As lots of hip hop songs do, there are tons of collaborative appearances on the album, such as Raekwon, Danny Brown and Bath Salts guest, Flatbush Zombies (via Consequence in Sound). Listen to the 18 track stream below, and stay tuned for A$AP Rocky’s album, LoveLiveA$AP, out on September 11.

You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. 2012/09/05

    […] week, A$AP Mob put up their new mixtape, Lord$ Never Worry, for the world to stream. Earlier this morning, we also featuring A$AP Rocky on the remix of a Rihanna track. We now get a […]

  2. 2012/10/11

    […] Tarantino is presenting a new film, The Man with the Iron Fists, that has a pretty solid soundtrack. One of the tracks is by the hip hop collective Wu-Tang Clan, and the movie itself is by Clan […]