Morning Music Notes – Take More Than Five, Mr. Brubeck

The 2013 Grammy Nominations Are Out

Who’s happy and who’s sad? The Grammy nominations were announced last night, and they’ve gone a little less mainstream. Some of the nominees include year-end list topper Frank Ocean, Jack White, The Black Keys, Florence + the Machine, Alabama Shakes, Mumford & Sons, and Miguel (I told you you should’ve entered our Miguel CD giveaway contest!). You can see the full list of nominees over at the website (I’m not typing EVERYTHING out for you), but some of the major categories include:

Record of the Year – We Are Young – Fun. featuring Janelle Monáe, Somebody That I Used to Know – Gotye Featuring Kimbra, Lonely Boy – The Black Keys, Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You) – Kelly Clarkson, Thinkin Bout You – Frank Ocean, We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together – Taylor Swift
Album Of The Year – El Camino – The Black Keys, Some Nights – Fun., Babel – Mumford & Sons, Channel Orange – Frank Ocean, Blunderbuss – Jack White
Best Rock Performance – Hold On – Alabama Shakes, Lonely Boy – The Black Keys, Charlie Brown – Coldplay, I Will Wait – Mumford & Sons, We Take Care Of Our Own – Bruce Springsteen
Best Rock Song – Freedom At 21 – Jack White, songwriter (Jack White), I Will Wait – Ted Dwane, Ben Lovett, Winston Marshall & Marcus Mumford, songwriters (mumford & Sons), Lonely Boy – Dan Auerbach, Brian Burton & Patrick Carney, songwriters (the Black Keys), Madness – Matthew Bellamy, songwriter (Muse), We Take Care Of Our Own – Bruce Springsteen, songwriter (Bruce Springsteen)
Best Rock Album – El Camino – The Black Keys, Mylo Xyloto – Coldplay, The 2nd Law – Muse, Wrecking Ball – Bruce Springsteen, Blunderbuss – Jack White
Best Alternative Music Album – The Idler Wheel Is Wiser Than The Driver Of The Screw And Whipping Cords Will Serve You More Than Ropes Will Ever Do – Fiona Apple, Biophilia – Björk, Making Mirrors – Gotye, Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming. – M83, Bad As Me – Tom Waits
Best Rap Album – Take Care – Drake, Food & Liquor II: The Great American Rap Album, Pt. 1 – Lupe Fiasco, Life Is Good – Nas, Undun – The Roots, God Forgives, I Don’t – Rick Ross, Based On A T.r.u. Story – 2 Chainz

Will we get another Who the Fuck is Bonnie Bear episode? I surely hope so!

Dave Brubeck Dead at 91

A guy who never won a Grammy but probably should’ve passed away yesterday. As I’m sure my tweet informed you you heard yesterday, jazz pianist Dave Brubeck passed away yesterday at the age of 91. His classic tune is Take Five, which is a 5/4 time jazzy number that both Rich and I played in our ultra cool jazz back back in high school. You probably know the tune, but do you know the Radiohead mash up? I think it’s kind of fantastic – check it out below.

Radiohead and Dave Brubeck – “Five Step” (15 Step and Take Five mashup)

Kraftwerk to Play Tate Modern Residency

Kraftwerk, who I saw open for Radiohead in Santiago, Chile, are returning to the UK for the first time in nearly a decade. They are doing it in style, too, by playing an eight night residency at the Tate Modern art gallery in London in February 2013 (via Gigwise). Each of these nights will be dedicated to one of their eight albums, too. If you’ve been to Tate Modern, you’ll likely know the giant Turbine Hall – this is where the band will playing, accompanied by a ‘highly advanced audiovisual show’. And to think all the people in the A/V Club got made fun of in high school.

Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor Has New EP, Nayim from the Halfway Line

Alexis Taylor has named his EP Nayim from the Halfway Line, which is bound to make him hated by Arsenal soccer fans. The Hot Chip singer’s EP is in reference to that goal by Real Zaragoza that got belted past Arsenal’s David Seaman in the 1995 UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup final. You can see clips of this in the trailer for the EP, which also gave me horrible flashbacks of Seaman scrambling back to try and save another long range kick that he missed, this time when suiting up for England.

Alexis Taylor - Nayim From The Halfway Line

The EP is out now and has 4 new tracks on it. Check out the trailer below.

Alexis Taylor – Nayim from the Halfway Line Tracklist
1. Rhodes Dream
2. You Want Me
3. Hot Squash
4. Jesus’ Birthday

You may also like...