Smashing Pumpkins to Release Oceania Album on June 19

90s legends the Smashing Pumpkins are still going, um, strong, despite only having one original member (hint: it’s singer Billy Corgan). The band have undertaken an ambitious project, recording 44 songs for a concept album, Teargarden by Kaleidyscope. And to their credit, some of the first few songs they have released have been quite excellent. Part of the Teargarden by Kaleidyscope series is “an album within an album”, which is Oceania. Still following this? Oceania will be the band’s seventh studio album, and will be released on June 19 through a partnership between EMI Label Services and Caroline Distribution (via Consequence of Sound).

The band first released an album in 1991, and became popular with 1993’s Siamese Dream, and continued gaining fans with 1995’s double album, Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. The new album, Oceania, will consist of 13 songs, with a running time of just over 60 minutes. You can check out the tracklisting below.

Tracklist for The Smashing Pumpkins – Oceania
“Quasar/Stella P and the People Mover”
“The Celestials”
“Violet Rays”
“My Love is Winter”
“One Diamond, One Heart”
“Pale Horse”
“The Chimera”

If you haven’t caught any of the Teargarden by Kaleidyscope series, check out A Stitch in Time below.

You may also like...